Gallery

Voile & Net Curtain Measuring Up

After a bit of internet searching I found a few companies that sell custom sized sheer and voile curtains: Net Curtains Direct, and Sheer Designs and have ordered a few fabric samples prior to ordering the actual drapes.

While waiting for those to arrive, I went and ordered the Kvadrat Ready Made curtain ‘rod’ in white with oak end brackets, which you will remember from my post here.   Next up in my curtain learning exercise – figuring out where to mount the rod (so I can calculate out how long and how wide the curtains need to be)

I had originally thought I’d mount the rod just above the top of the window architrave, directly beside the frame on the existing wood pattresses from the original curtain rods (image on the left). But then I thought that maybe the windows would look taller and wider if I mounted the rod on the ceiling, and a little further from the edge of the window frame.

To test out my theory, I did a quick photo-shop mock up. Sure enough the ceiling, wider spaced mounting looks a lot better!  (Excuse the lurid red curtains – I used red so they’d be easy to see in front of the roman blinds!)

In addition to a gut instinct about where to hang the curtains, I of course did a bit of internet research into the matter to see what the professionals suggest. (I don’t tend to deal with curtains in my day to day job much so this is all quite a learning curve for me!)

Net Curtains Direct’s website offers really handy tips on how to measure up the size for your sheer, net or voile curtains, and therefore indirectly where to position the curtain rod.  Their guide helpfully suggests that in order for the curtains to stack neatly beside the window (rather than blocking the glass) you should allow 15cm on either side of the glazing for ‘stack back’.   They also recommend that for wispy sheer curtains, you allow 2.5x the window width for the fabric for sufficient gather. The website also has some really helpful images of what the different gathers look like if you want to go up to 3x or down to 1.5x.

Leave a Reply

