Gallery

End of Bed Storage Bench

You may remember my post here when I hatched a plan for what sort of storage arrangement I wanted in the master bedroom.  Between summer holidays, weekend getaways and other distractions, I have to confess that haven’t put much time into sorting that out, but have at least at last managed to organise our end of bed storage bench.

I knew exactly what I wanted for the end of bed unit, but often the problem with knowing is that is then you can never quite find what you are looking for.  I basically wanted a bench height drawer unit so it doubles up as a bench and storage (in small spaces I always like hard working multi-function items), that was the width of a double bed – but could I find this? No. I could find drawer units which were about a meter high, and benches, and blanket chests – but nothing that was quite right.

After looking for ages in all my go-to furniture stores and websites (Heals, Habitat, John Lewis, NotOnTheHighStreet, IKEA, Wayfair, HAY, AnotherCountry, and Nest to name but a few) and not finding what I wanted, I decided I would get a joiner to make it for us.

Above is the finished item, along with my initial sketch. I had originally planned on a 6 drawer unit, but I reduced it to 4 drawers to save on cost once I had it quoted, and also because the drawers would have been a bit too small anyway.  Overall I’m really pleased with the result.

I went with ash to match the bedside tables and the bed, and had it white washed in Osmo Oil to give it a Scandinavian look and to prevent it yellowing. I originally purchased the Osmo Polyx Oil Tint in 3040 White but the white colour tint was so subtle that you could barely see the white finish (you’d need loads of coats!). So in the end I opted for the Osmo Interior Wax in 7303 White Transparent to achieve the effect you see here. I wanted the unit to be quite white, so that when we eventually get the floors sanded, it matches tonally, but is whiter so it doesn’t just disappear.

 

Leave a Reply

