Gallery

Window Treatment

I will confess that I have always struggled with curtains and window treatment.  In my previous Georgian flat I avoided addressing this question as the bedroom had beautiful built in period shutters. When closed, they improved thermal performance, reduced street noise and provided pretty much complete black out, and when open, neatly folded into their own wall pocket and looked like part of the wall panelling. Job done. 

I delayed adressing the window treatment in our living room bay window as I got stuck and so we have been reusing the original curtains for now – but that does certainly need tackling! (Im just waiting for inspiration to hit…) For our master bedroom however I just can’t bring myself to re-install our current purple curtains and as we will need something from day one, I need to figure this out now. 

The options that seem to be out there are:

  1. Folding shutters like in our guest room (I am generally satisfied with how they look, but I’m not 100% convinced I want to repeat them as they don’t have a built in niche to fold into so look a little ‘stuck on’ in their open position)
  2. Single Panel more contemporary looking shutters as in the images above (I need to check there is space for them to fold back, there wasn’t in the guest room) 
  3. Thermally lined smooth roller blinds The images above are from Blinds2Go and Duette (who have invented a honeycomb technology to improve thermal performance), although there are many online companies out there, including this one where you can provide your own fabric which they will laminate onto their blinds. (The issue with blinds being however that the configuration of our sash windows is such that there isn’t a recess for them to fit into so they’d have to sit on top of the surrounding window frame, which isn’t quite as wide, or as deep as in the image above – so I’m not sure if that will look odd?)
  4. A combination of roller blind for black out capability, paired with a curtain to soften the look and hide the fact that the blind is sitting on top of the frame.
  5. Roman black out blinds – Perhaps the gathered fabric takes the colder office feel off a standard roller blind?
  6. Full length black out fabric lined curtains (you can also get thermal fabric lining too). This sort of what we have now, but once we move the radiators to below the windows, they will interfere with the curtain when shut – so perhaps not ideal.

So – are there any thoughts out there? (as I’m stumped!) What have you done to dress your sash windows?

 

4 thoughts on “Window Treatment

    1. I think that is where I am leaning also. Now that I am thinking about this aspect of the room I am much more alert to how people deal with window treatment and blinds for historic sash windows without deep recesses. It seems most common in the various images I have seen in magazines and online that the roller blind is posited above the frame and is the full width of the window so when closed EVERYTHING is covered, a roman blind seems commonly positioned in a similar fashion. I think I just need to see a few more examples before this seems ‘normal’ to me!

Leave a Reply

